Sales: 312-922-9035 | Service: 312-964-6499
Sales: 312-922-9035 | Service: 312-964-6499

Government Agencies

Government Agencies

Field Office

Located in select U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) districts, these offices schedule interviews for certain visa applications and can also provide information and customer service. An FN can be asked to visit a field office so that an adjudicating officer can verify information listed in his or her green card application.

Office Of Special Counsel For Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices

Part of the U.S. Department of Justice’s (DOJ) Civil Rights Division, this office enforces provisions of the Immigration and National Act, which protects U.S. citizens and certain work permit holders against employment discrimination based on immigration status and other reasons.

Port Of Entry

Any location in the United States or its territories designated as an entry point for FNs and U.S. citizens. All district offices and service centers are also considered ports, since they become points of entry for FNs adjusting to immigrant status.

U.S. Citizenship And Immigration Services (USCIS)

A federal agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States by issuing employment authorization documentation, maintaining Form I-9 and administering the E-Verify employment eligibility verification program. This agency will adjudicate most work authorization petitions.

Once you’ve led a work visa petition and received a receipt number, you can check the status of your case via the USCIS website at:

U.S. Consulate Or Embassy

Foreign branches of the DOS located in various countries around the world. FNs visit U.S. consulates or embassies while in their country of origin to complete the interview requirement of the application process and receive their visa.
The United States only has one embassy in a foreign country’s capital; however, there may be multiple consulates.

U.S. Customs And Border Protection (CBP)

An agency of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) responsible for facilitating legitimate travel and trade while preventing the illegal entry of people and goods. The CBP ensures people traveling to the United States are entering for the purpose the visa was issued.

U.S. Department Of Homeland Security (DHS)

A department of the executive branch tasked with preventing terrorism, managing risks to critical infrastructure, administering and enforcing immigration laws and more. USCIS, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and CBP fall under the umbrella of the DHS.

U.S. Department Of Justice (DOJ)

An executive branch department responsible for enforcing the law and the United States’ interests to ensure public safety against domestic and foreign threats.

U.S. Department Of Labor (DOL)

A government agency that fosters and promotes the welfare of workers, job seekers and retirees by improving and maintain working conditions and benefits. The DOL also regulates certain immigration visas and green card petitions in the interest of protecting the U.S. labor market.

U.S. Department Of State (DOS)

A part of the federal executive branch responsible for making and conducting foreign policy. It is also called the State Department. Each month the agency releases the Visa Bulletin, which highlights updated application filing dates and final action dates for family and employment- based green cards. In addition, the DOS manages U.S. consulates and is in charge of issuing FNs a visa to enter the United States as needed.

Did you know?

In many cases, if an FN is outside the United States while applying for a work visa, he or she can submit the application directly to the DOS. Sending prepared applications to USCIS is common for petitions led inside the United States.

U.S. Immigration And Customs Enforcement (ICE)

The investigative arm of the DHS tasked with promoting homeland security and public safety by enforcing laws and governing customs, trade, border control and immigration.